Kamwendo, Ng’ambi Re-called as Mtawali Names his Squad

By: Chikondi Magalasi

Former Malawi national football team Captain, Joseph Kamwendo and Platinum Stars midfielder has been re-called in Flames squad as the team is expected to reassemble on 21 February.

Joseph Kamwendo

Flames will take on Guinea in a crucial encounter of 2017 Africa Cup of nation qualifier next month both away and at home.

According to a statement that has been released by Football Association of Malawi (FAM), local players are expected to re-group on Sunday 21 February 2016.

While the foreign based players will join the team later on.

However some of names missing on the list include goalkeeper, Richard Chipuwa, and instead 2015 Super league goalkeeper of the year, John Soko of Blue Eagles and Ernest Kakhobwe of Azam Tigers have been called.

In the defence, Emmanuel Zoya of Civo and Levison Maganizo of Silver Strikers have been left as Mtawali has also re-called Mighty Beforward Wanderers left back, Francis Mlimbika.

In the Midfield, Azam Tigers star, Yamikani Chester and Fischer Kondowe of Big Bullets have been left behind as Mtawali has trusted services of Civo United player, Dan Msimuko.


As many people were thinking that Super League joint top goal scorers Innocent Bokosi of Red Lions and Nyasa Big Bullets’s forward, Chiukepo Msowoya, will make it into the squad but Mtawali has only opted for Msowoya.

For the foreign based players, University of Pretoria FC of South Africa star, Atusaye Nyondo, and Polokwane’s Esau Kanyenda are among those that have not been included in the squad.

The full call up is as follows:

Local Players

  1. Brighton Munthali
  2. Ernest Kakhobwe
  3. John Soko
  4. John Lanjesi
  5. Wonderful Jeremani
  6. Yamikani Fodya
  7. Miracle Gabeya
  8. Pilirani Zonda
  9. Stanley Sanudi
  10. Francis Mlimbika
  11. John CJ Banda

12.Isaac Kaliati

13.Enerst Tambe

14.Dan Msimuko

  1. Dalitso Sayilesi
  2. Chiukepo Msowoya
  3. Jabulani Linje
  4. Schumacher Kuwali


Foreign based players

  1. Charles Swimi
  2. Simplex Nthala
  3. Limbikani Mzamva
  4. Harry Nyirenda
  5. Chimango Kayira
  6. Robert Ng’ambi
  7. Micium Mhone
  8. Joseph Kamwendo
  9. Gerald Phiri Jnr
  10. Robert Ng’ambi
  11. Gabadinho Mhango
  12. Zicco Mkanda


1 Comment on Kamwendo, Ng’ambi Re-called as Mtawali Names his Squad

Leave a Reply